Skip to content ↓
King Edward VI Community College

King Edward VI Community College

Report an Issue

Year 10 Mathematics

AQA GCSE Mathematics 8300

Students at King Edward VI Community study the AQA GCSE Mathematics syllabus.

GCSE Mathematics has two tiers of entry, Foundation tier (grades 1 – 5) and a Higher tier (grades 4 – 9).

Please find attached below the curriculum overviews for Year 10 Foundation and Higher tiers.

Using the links provided in the menu you will be able to find details regarding the essential knowledge for each unit studied in year 10 including, specification content, prior learning, links to future learning, assessment arrangements, and key vocabulary required.


The course is assessed through a terminal examination at the end of the course.​

Examination papers are tiered papers, ​ Foundation tier (grades 1 – 5), and a Higher tier (grades 4 – 9).

Students must take three question papers at the same tier.

Each written paper contributes 33⅓% of the final grade and is 1 hour 30 minutes​ long.

Each paper is marked out of 80 marks.

Paper 1 - Non - calculator

Paper 2 - Calculator

Paper 3 - Calculator